A lyrical documentary film by Lotta Petronella portrays the life of four different women living in the outer islands of the Åbo Archipelago. Petronella sensitively focuses on the women’s very personal choices, as they share their daily routines during the course of four seasons and charts their stories of loneliness, loss, love and death.

Although representing different generations, they have much in common and all of them consider the fundamental questions of life with openness, warmth and occasional humour. Knowing that they belong on the islands surrounded by nature all four are happily aware that “the meaning of life is not that everything is in order”.

Lotta Petronella

Lotta Petronella is an artist and a filmmaker. She graduated from Chelsea College of Art in London in 1999. Since then she has made short, experimental and documentary films as well as worked in other film productions as an editor, cinematographer and producer. Skärikvinnor is her first feature length film.

Her work has been exhibited in cinemas and galleries in Finland, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Spain, Australia, the UK and Brazil.

Lotta is currently living in Finland working on a film about lies and fantasies based on her late grandmother. The film is produced by Kinoproductions. And on a small scale art film based on six Haiku poems with actress Cecile Orblin.

Director: Lotta Petronella
Production: Skärgårdskanalen
Duration: 78 min
Country: Finland, 2007